Saturday, December 10, 2016

The Selection by Kiera Cass


Star Rating : 4 out of 5
https://1.bp.blogspot.com/-NGSQqNjGgrU/WB4vD5kFEEI/AAAAAAAAAHA/Sqhdw1OwLGwoGYs__cM5LOIJ-oNSuVPvgCLcB/s1600/Blue.Star%2B%25281%2529.jpghttps://1.bp.blogspot.com/-NGSQqNjGgrU/WB4vD5kFEEI/AAAAAAAAAHA/Sqhdw1OwLGwoGYs__cM5LOIJ-oNSuVPvgCLcB/s1600/Blue.Star%2B%25281%2529.jpghttps://1.bp.blogspot.com/-NGSQqNjGgrU/WB4vD5kFEEI/AAAAAAAAAHA/Sqhdw1OwLGwoGYs__cM5LOIJ-oNSuVPvgCLcB/s1600/Blue.Star%2B%25281%2529.jpghttps://1.bp.blogspot.com/-NGSQqNjGgrU/WB4vD5kFEEI/AAAAAAAAAHA/Sqhdw1OwLGwoGYs__cM5LOIJ-oNSuVPvgCLcB/s1600/Blue.Star%2B%25281%2529.jpg
Content Rating : MILD


Back Cover :
"The first book in the captivating, #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series! Discover a breathless fairy-tale romance with swoon-worthy characters, glittering gowns, fierce intrigue, and a dystopian world that will captivate readers who loved Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Ally Condie’s Matched, and Lauren Oliver’s Delirium.
For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape a rigid caste system, live in a palace, and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her, and competing for a crown she doesn’t want.
Then America meets Prince Maxon—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.”
My Thoughts :
Sometimes, I will randomly pick up Young Adult fiction. For this one, the cover won me over. I think high schoolers will love it. Given it’s a really girly book. The Selection is a Cinderella story meets the Bachelor. It’s one of those books guys would roll their eyes at; but, girls secretly have imagined. All the books in the series are super-fast reads; which, is part of the appeal of a young adult book. And don’t tell anyone; but, I liked it and have already read the rest of the series (like I said they are short). There are three books in the main series and then a second set of three that picks up sixteen years later. The second set is not as good as the first; so I suggest that you stop after three.

I gave it a 4 out of 5 stars. But, you really have to take it for what it is, a fluff piece. It's not great literature; but, it is a fun girly read. I also would like to note that you will see some bashing of the book for not being deeper, etc. These reviewers forgot this is a young adult book, so don't let them deter you.


I rated it MILD. There is no language. There series has some violence mentioned; but, nothing in detail. It is a love story, so there is kissing; but, nothing really sexual in nature. The third book in the series, you see America Singer contemplate more; but, that is as far as it goes.

Note : A movie adaptation is in the works by Warner Bros. 

What I liked :
  • America Singer – I think the strength of the book is the main character and her relationships. While the concept of the book is not original, I found the characters interesting. America is a strong girl, but still has her faults. No one really likes a perfect character, so the faults endear her.
  • The Pace – I found the book was a good pace. It was an easy read, which is exactly what I wanted when I picked it up. I found myself reading several chapters when I meant to only read one. 
What I didn’t like :
  • The Character Names – I see what she was doing; the character names refer to what the person does. But, I thought they were silly and not really useful to the story.
  • Unoriginal – It is a bit unoriginal. It is a little like a Lifetime movie, especially the ones at Christmas which always seem to involve a prince or princess; but, somehow you still find yourself watching it. 
What Others Are Saying :

“An engrossing tale reminiscent of Shannon Hale’s Princess Academy and Ally Condie’s Matched. Fairy-tale lovers will lose themselves in America’s alternate reality and wish that the next glamorous sequel were waiting for them.” -- School Library Journal

“Cass’s immensely readable debut novel is a less drastic Hunger Games, with elaborate fashion and trappings. The fast-paced action will have readers gasping for the upcoming sequel.” –Booklist

 Reviewed by Shayna Hinshaw













Pick up your copy at Amazon or Barnes and Noble

No comments :

Post a Comment